Undergraduate Catalog 2019-2021

University History

Georgia College was chartered in 1889 as Georgia Normal and Industrial College and opened on Monday September 30, 1891. Its emphasis at the time was largely vocational, and its major task was to prepare young women for teaching or industrial careers. In 1917, in keeping with economic and cultural changes in the state, it was authorized to grant degrees, the first of which was awarded in 1921. In 1922, the institution's name was changed to Georgia State College for Women. The University has been a unit of the University System of Georgia since the system was formed in 1932. The name was changed to Women's College of Georgia in 1961, and, when the institution became coeducational in 1967, it became Georgia College at Milledgeville. The name was later shortened to Georgia College. In August 1996, the Board of Regents approved the name Georgia College & State University to reflect its new mission as Georgia's Public Liberal Arts University. The University is best known by its shorthand name, Georgia College.

Former presidents of the University are Dr. J. Harris Chappell, Dr. Marvin M. Parks, Dr. J.L. Beeson, Dr. Guy H. Wells, Dr. Henry King Stanford, Dr. Robert E. Lee, Dr. J. Whitney Bunting, Dr. Edwin G. Speir, Dr. Rosemary DePaolo, and Dr. Dorothy Leland. Dr. Steve M. Dorman became the eleventh president of Georgia College on September 1, 2012.